Scopus Award

The Scopus Award is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an individual by a Friends Association.  It truly represents and reflects the traditions of excellence that embody the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The Scopus Award is presented to an individual or to an association who have excelled in their respective fields and whose humanitarian endeavors and outstanding commitment contributed to the betterment of the Hebrew University, the State of Israel and mankind.

The Swiss Friends of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem were proud to grant this year’s Scopus Award to Lord Norman Foster, the British architect selected to plan and build
The Edmond and Lily Safra Center for Brain Sciences (ELSC).


Campus Biotech, Geneva - September 20th, 2016 

List of the recipients:

Nobel Laureates
Saul Bellow - USA
Baruch S. Blumberg - USA
Milton Friedman - USA
Elie Wiesel - USA
Professor Sir Aaron Klug – U.K.

Political Leaders, Statesmen, Ambassadors & Businessmen
President Gerald R. Ford - USA
Senator Hubert H. Humphrey - USA
Max Kampelman - USA
Senator Edward Kennedy - USA
Ambassador Dr Jeane J. Kirkpatrick - USA
Senator Frank Lautenberg - USA
Senator Carl Levin - USA
Baroness Nadine de Rothschild- Switzerland
Helmut Maucher - Germany
Lord Michael Levy – U.K.
Lord David Sainsbury of Turville - UK
Professor Martin – Switzerland 
Professor Jean-Francois Bergier – Switzerland
Heinrich Von Pierer - Germany  
Lily Safra –  Switzerland
Maurice Levy - France
Eric de Rothschild - France
Benoit Wesly- Holland 
Jaap de Hoop Scheffer - Holland
Ruth Fayon - Switzerland
Rolf Bloch - Switzerland 
Simone Veil - France 
Robert Badinter - France
Charlotte Knobloch - Germany
Jacques Brotchi - Belgium
Dr. Josef Joffe - Germany
Beate and Serge Klarsfeld - France
Gerrit Zalm - Netherlands
Patrick Drahi- France
Chief Rabbi Haïm Korsia - France

Arts, Entertainment & Media
Bob Hope - USA
Danny Kaye - USA
Larry King - USA
Zubin Mehta - India
Gregory Peck - USA
Itzhak Perlman - Israel
Artur Rubinstein - Polen
Frank Sinatra - USA
Billy Crystal - USA
Roman Polanski - France
Bernard Henri Levy - France 
Charles Aznavour - France
Philippe Labro - France
Radu Mihaileanu- Belgium
Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne- Belgium
Jean d'Ormesson- France
Lord Norman Foster- Switzerland