vNovember 3, 2021 Webinar Continuing Legal Education American Friends HUJI HUJI American Friends Continuing Legal Education

https://mailchi.mp/afhu/afghanwomenseptemberwebinar-363038?e=9d025156db

American Friends of the Hebrew University and American Association of Jewish Lawyers and Jurists present a virtual CLE series.

* Attendees in CA, FL, IL, NY, NV, PA will receive one CLE credit per course with reciprocity including AZ, CT, NJ. The current CLE series will continue monthly through 03/02/22. For more information, please visit our websiteor contact Marilyn Simon-Gersuk, Western Region, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  or 310.843.3100.

Pleading the Fifth, and Plea Bargaining: A Jewish Law Perspective featuring Prof. David Flatto
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 at 12 PM PST/2 PM CST/3 PM EST

In the landmark case of Miranda, the Supreme Court adduced biblical support for the privilege against self-incrimination. Yet, perhaps more striking than this parallel are the fundamental differences in the parameters and justification of this doctrine in Jewish and American jurisprudence. In this lecture, we will explore these comparative legal traditions, and also consider the implications of our analysis for evaluating the widespread practice of plea bargaining.

REGISTER NOW

https://mailchi.mp/afhu/afghanwomenseptemberwebinar-363038?e=9d025156db

 

 

199 Water Street, 11th Floor, New York, NY 10038

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.       www.afhu.org      212.607.8500